A tale of two cars

Big night for Darling Daughter yesterday:  she took delivery of her brand new shiny red Honda Fit and she is over the moon!  Transportation at last!  Freedom!  Independence!

The car (and the first year’s worth of insurance) is a 21st birthday gift from her grandma, my mother. Grandma is a bit old-fashioned in that 21 signifies adulthood to her, not 19 as our provincial government has decreed.  And since 21 is a big deal, your gift should be a big deal, she believes.  (If you’re wondering, yes, my 21st birthday was also a big deal way back when. My parents gave me a beautiful cedar chest that I am still using and am proud of today.  It wasn’t a brand new car because they had already bought me a second-hand car three years previously when I started university and needed to get there somehow.  The bus system in Vancouver was pathetic back then – but that’s another post.)

So DD and I went to pick up her car, which entailed a lot of decisions regarding additional warranty coverage, insurance, signatures, cheques exchanging hands, and in our case, a rude awakening as well.  To make a long story short, we were absolutely shocked to find that a year of insurance for her is 4000$!  There are a number of reasons for this (one of which is a small accident that she had while driving my old car almost three years ago), but it is still an enormous number.  However, Grandma was paying, even though none of us had anticipated the cost being quite that high.  I guess we should have done a little homework on the insurance website first so we at least had a inkling of what was coming.

After all the paperwork was done and the keys had been presented to her, DD drove straight to Grandma’s house, whooping all the way.  Grandma was suitably impressed, particularly with the roominess of the Fit. It really is a lovely little vehicle – especially to someone (me) who is currently driving The Mighty Hyundai and is anxiously awaiting delivery of her own new BMW 135i.

Interestingly, it also happened that today was the day to return to the rental place and extend my time with said Mighty Hyundai.  When the fellow checked the car over, he noted that one of its tires was low and that it needed an oil change.  I looked a bit dubious at that point, and wondered aloud how long this would take and should I wait.  He said I could do that, or he could give me a different rental car.  He had an orange Yaris available.  I shuddered.  I said, “I don’t DO orange. I look hideous in orange.”   He laughed.  I didn’t.  

There are now two new cars in my garage.  One is DD’s new red Honda Fit.  The other is Another Mighty Hyundai.  It’s blue.

One response to “A tale of two cars

  1. Last time I rented a car (in California), I asked for a subcompact. I got a PT Cruiser, which was surprisingly fun to drive. The time before, my subcompact rental turned out to be a Charger, which was even better.

    BMW 135i – saw one not long ago. I was surprised by how roomy it looked, especially given the 3-series’ reputation for being a bit tight to get in and out of. Looks pretty in white BTW.