Flood

I was at work today, running around doing some of the organizing that teachers do at the beginning of the school year.  I had books to categorize and put away, files to look up, reports to write, a staffroom dishwasher to load up with soap and switch on, recycling bags to find, colleagues to connect with, and even some kids to see.  I’m sure you get the picture.  I was busy.  I also had to go to the bathroom.

So off I trotted, but I didn’t head to the women’s bathroom in the staffroom.  I went to the unisex bathroom near our medical room because it’s closer to my classroom.  It’s used by our physically handicapped kids, but mostly by many staff members because of its location. (Our staff room is a bit off the beaten track when you really have to go.)

In I went, peed with relief, flushed.  Then I noticed that the water level in the toilet was going UP, not down. I frantically searched for the water shutoff valve – which didn’t appear to exist.  Naturally, a flood ensued. I could only watch.  What to do?!?

What does one do when one needs help in a school?  One runs to the secretary, of course.  I quickly explained to her what happened, and her response was a sigh and the word “Shit!”

“No, not really,” I hastened to reply.  “I only peed.”

Comments are closed.