iPod, youPod

I  think I have a new favourite toy:  my pretty pink iPod.  I’ve spent a great deal of time the past two days getting familiar with its functions and learning how to download and manage music, playlists, etc.  As DD says, “Welcome to the 21st century, Mom.  What took you so long?”

She’s right.  And I have no defense.  I am one of those people who can spend entire days without turning on the stereo (though I do like to wake up and fall asleep to talk radio and I always have music blasting in the car – when I HAVE a car).  I never used to be like that.  I think it’s a phenomenon that dates back seven years or so – possibly back to when the Ex and I split up (he got custody of the good stereo and I got the little ghetto blaster that I still have).

Actually, now that I think of it, I never even owned a walkman or discman back in the 80’s.  Listening to my own private music has obviously never appealed to me…till now.  This iPod invention is pretty damn cool! As most other inhabitants of first-world countries on this planet already know, it’s super-easy to find and download your favourite tunes, or to transfer them from CDs.  I quite enjoy creating playlists, I’ve realized, and it’s great fun to go on a walk in time to music I have chosen, tiny pink iPod tucked in my pocket.  I can also almost completely forget how uncomfortable the earbuds are (is it just me and my microscopic ears, or do they irritate inside everybody’s ears??).  

I do have to remember to not sing along so loudly, however.

Comments are closed.