Black cars look better in the shade

I have been without a car for almost a month now. This is because I totaled my brand new car only two months after I took delivery of it. How lame is that??? I waited nine weeks for its arrival. then I drove it for eight. There is something not-quite-right about this scenario. 
 
But I’m managing. I live across the street from a shopping mall and just up the street from two more, so I can walk almost everywhere I need to go: grocery store, drugstore, doctor, hairdresser, liquor store, bank (well, the ATM at least), two pubs, four Starbucks outlets, several restaurants. Where I can’t walk is to the library or to get my nails done. Which means I have to wangle rides from friends to go to those places. That’s a bit embarrassing, particularly the nails: “Um…could you maybe give me a lift on Tuesday?” “Sure. Where to?” “Um…my nail lady’s house. I have a standing appointment every third Tuesday.”  
 
I’m a teacher, so of course I haven’t had to go to work this month. But school re-opens on September 2, so I will have to get a car then. I really couldn’t walk to work (although one of my colleagues a few years ago lived nearby and he often rode his bicycle to work). I do have one current colleague who lives not too far from me, and although I’ve driven him to and from work many times in the past few years so he certainly owes me, I couldn’t ever adapt to the school hours he likes to keep. He likes to arrive between 7 and 7:30 a.m. and leave by 3 p.m. I once arrived at 7 a.m. Once. In 28 years of teaching. So really, that is not an option. 
 
I’ll be renting a car starting on September 1. I’ve learned that there is quite a range in monthly rental fees depending upon the company. I’ve also learned that it will be cheaper for me to keep the insurance I already have (for a car that I no longer own and no longer exists) rather than purchase insurance from the rental company. I’ve actuallly done the math (shocking, I know. I’m definitely NOT a math person.) and if I keep my current insurance going, it’s about 160$ a month, whereas the rental company will charge at least 500$ a month. Not hard to decide what to do there, is it? 
 
The irony is that I do have an insurance package that supposedly pays for a rental car. The catch is that this is only in effect till: a) repairs are completed on my car, b) 500$ maximum in rental fees is reached, or c) the insurance company pays me out if my car is written off. C) applies in my case, so although I paid a bit more originally for this package, I cannot benefit from it now when I actually need a car. And that’s one of the ways insurance companies make their money. 
 
My new car should be here at the end of October, if all goes according to plan. That’s ten weeks from now. Maybe I can drive this one longer than eight.  
 
 

Comments are closed.